Western Australia

2023 Year 12 Results Now Available

The 2023 WACE exhibitions and awards have been publicly announced and these are now available on the Top Scores site.

This year, once again two students in the State earned themselves six or more awards each. They were Elena Latchem (Methodist Ladies College) who was this year's WACE Beazley Medal winner, and Sarah Flahive (St Mary's Anglican Girls School). Both students earned two Subject Certificates of Excellence in their awards haul.

Amongst the W.A. schools, the students at Perth Modern School once again collected the largest number of awards this year, with a total of 227 awards, including 14 General Exhibitions.

Congratulations to all of this year's high achievers.

Year 12 in Western Australia

In Western Australia, students who complete year 11 and 12 studies gain a Western Australian Certificate of Education (WACE). The WACE framework replaced the former system based upon the Tertiary Entrance Exam (TEE).

A WACE qualification requires a minimum of 20 units or equivalent, 10 units of which must be at year 12. Units are chosen from the ATAR, General, Foundation, VET or Preliminary courses. The ATAR courses are for students who are aiming to go to university.

To gain a WACE qualification, students must achieve a grade C or higher in at least 14 units, with a minimum of six of those being at a year 12 level. These must include at least four year 12 ATAR courses or Cert II VET study units.

About WACE Awards

The W.A. School Curriculum and Standards Authority recognises academic prowess through a range of exhibitions, awards and medals.

  • The two Beazley Medals are awarded to the top students overall from the academic (highest General Exhibition score) and vocational programs (best VET results).
  • General Exhibitions are awarded to the top 50 students based on their averaged scaled marks in five courses and/or subjects.
  • Subject/Course Exhibitions are awarded to the students who obtain the highest raw exam score in each individual WACE course or subject.
  • Certificates of Excellence (formerly Certificates of Distinction) are awarded to the top 0.5% of students in each tertiary entrance subject based on their examination marks.
  • Certificates of Distinction and Certificates of Merit, formerly Certificates of Commendation (2012-2015) or Certificates of Excellence (prior to 2012), are awarded to students who obtain at least 150 points (Certificate of Merit) or 190 points (Certificate of Distinction) across 20 year 11 and year 12 course units or equivalents, of which 10 are at year 12 level.

Administration of the WACE

The WACE program is administered by the W.A. School Curriculum and Standards Authority, formerly the W.A. Curriculum Council.

The S.C.S.A. is responsible for the accreditation of senior school courses, as well as the conduct of the year 12 external examinations, the assessment of student achievements, and record-keeping in relation to students' participation, assessment and achievements.

Home Privacy Policy Contact Us